JAN GUNNAR HOFF GROUP feat Arve Henriksen

The JAN GUNNAR HOFF GROUP was established in 1993 as a quartet with different soloists: Knut Riisnæs, Per Jørgensen, Tore Brunborg. The band core has been Jan Gunnar Hoff on keys, Audun Kleive on drums and until 2008, Bjørn Kjellemyr on bass. Hoff´s band has collaborated with artists like Mike Stern, Mathias Eick, Kenwood Dennard, Maria Joao a.o. The band had their breakthrough at Vossajazz in 1995 and later did a legendary concert with Pat Metheny at Moldejazz 2001.

In 2014 Hoff recorded his album Fly North, nominated for Norwegian Grammy, with trumpeter Arve Henriksen in a leading role. In 2021 Jan Gunnar Hoff Group, now with Per Mathisen on bass, did a successful tour with Arve Henriksen as a soloist and this constellation is due for more dates in 2022 and 2023.  The music is based on Hoff´s albums and his melodic compositions including more groovy stuff from other projects with Mike Stern, Gary Novak etc. The band also performs brand new material written for Arve Henriksen, like the ballad Vaapstenjeanoe (Big River). Line up 2022/2023:

Arve Henriksen -trumpet  Jan Gunnar Hoff -keys  Per Mathisen -bass  Audun Kleive -drums  Thor-Ivar Lund -sound
Band photo (press link). CC: Jørn Størkson
Band photo 2 (press link). CC: Jørn Størkson
Relevant listening:

  1. City Z (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 4:23
  2. Some Day (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 6:33
  3. Common Ground (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 7:39
  4. Living (Losen records 2014) Hoff, Mazur, Henriksen, Jormin 6:54
  5. FLY NORTH (Losen 2013) Hoff - Jormin - Mazur - Henriksen
  6. Beginning Hoff Ensemble: Jan Gunnar Hoff, Audun Kleive & Anders Jormin 3:14