GLADIATOR (Losen Records 2021)

Per Mathisen and Jan Gunnar Hoff with Gary Novak

Record Details


This 2021-album (Losen records) is a collaboration between Per Mathisen (bass), Jan Gunnar Hoff (keys) and Gary Novak (drums), recorded in Verdal, Lydhagen, Norway in October 2019. The music is composed by Mathisen & Hoff, except “Now we are free”, the iconic tune from the 2000- movie Gladiator, composed by Hans Zimmer. “The sonic interplay between composers Per Mathisen and Jan Gunnar Hoff is excellent, on the highly entertaining Gladiator”. “In the hands of Zimmer or Mathisen / Hoff, the immediate, in-your-face hook and beat are always tempered by developments of chords and tangents of rhythm that can shake the complacency of a ‘straight-ahead’ jazz-funk to discover novel shapes and phrases”.

Progressive rock central: “Cutting edge fusion from Nordic masters”. 5/5 – “The album offers an extraordinarily wide and rich musical language – great individual performances as well as the overall “chemical” playfulness of the trio – based on rhythmic precision and rich melody. The musicians put on the highest vigor and more than just interesting solo parts. The fact that the album pampers us with full beautiful sound and great dynamics – is a kind of wonderful naturalness of musicians, sound engineers and publishers!”

  1. City Z (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 4:23
  2. Some Day (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 6:33
  3. Common Ground (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 7:39
  4. Living (Losen records 2014) Hoff, Mazur, Henriksen, Jormin 6:54
  5. FLY NORTH (Losen 2013) Hoff - Jormin - Mazur - Henriksen
  6. Beginning Hoff Ensemble: Jan Gunnar Hoff, Audun Kleive & Anders Jormin 3:14