Hoff at Bergmanveckan 2015, Fårö

Bergmanveckan is an annual arrangement organized by the Bergman Center on Fårö, Gotland. The main objective of the Bergman Center at Fårö Foundation is to manage and develop the public side of Ingmar Bergman’s legacy using a wide range of expressions. Jan Gunnar Hoff  composed several works during his August 2014- residence at the Ingmar Bergman Estate. His contribution at Bergmanveckan 2015 will be at the opening on June 22 and also a solo concert on June 23 with selected compositions, some of them composed on Fårö.

Link to Bergman Center.

Hoff at Lithuanian National Philharmonia

Jan Gunnar Hoff will perform a concert May 20 in Vilnius at the prestigous Lithuanian National Philharmonia. Famous artists like Rostropovitch, Mehenuin, Chick Corea, London Symphony Orchestra, Herbie Hancock, Dave Brubeck, Penderecki, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Yuri Bashmet, Giedon Kraemer and Al di Meola have performed here. Hoff will perform from his solo program but also feature the great trumpeter from Lithunia, Valerijus Ramoška in several compositions.

Second tour in Japan

May 2015 Jan Gunnar Hoff will make his second solo tour in Japan. Here are the tour dates and venues: May 4 – RAG, Kyoto, May 5 – Mokkiriya, Kanazawa, May 6 – Jazz Flash, Niigata, May 7 – Airegin, Yokohama, May 8 – Yagini-Kiku?, Tokyo.

Stille lys (Quiet Light) now available

2L109Norwegian pianist Jan Gunnar Hoff has released several albums in the recent years performing original compositions; solo as on Living and with his Fly North Quartet. This time Hoff delivers a concept album performing 15 songs and Christmas carols, both Norwegian standards and international classics. Stille lys (Quiet Light) is Jan Gunnar Hoff’s commission for Nordnorsk Lederutvikling, a group of Northern Trainees aiming to add an artistic and musical profile to their concept with an atmosphere of tranquility and proximity. Seeking inspiration in the North and at Ingmar Bergman Estate by the Baltic Sea, Hoff continues his solo journey, once again recorded by multi-Grammy nominated Morten Lindberg and 2L.

Album available now as high res files from 2L and iTunes MP3. Stille lys- CD is available for purchase through this link.

Successful Storm-opening

IL1t-SqlVZ7RN6ldSQ25-Q0U8ETisn0UeGn1rwFAyWMgJan Gunnar Hoff participated at the opening of Bodø´s new concert house The Storm. The show was sent on National TV NRK1 on November 15. Hoff performed his version of the Northern Norway unofficial “National anthem” Barndomsminne fra Nordland (Å eg veit meg eit land) together with mezzo soprano Marianne Beate Kielland. Hoff also performed in a backing band for Maria Haukaas Mittet and played 4-hands piano with Leif Ove Andsnes in the closing number. Link to full NRK show Nov 11. Featured image cc: NRK

Composing at Ingmar Bergman Estate, Fårö

In August 2014 Jan Gunnar Hoff resided at the Ingmar Bergman Estate on Fårö Island, Gotland. Bergman Estate is a non-commercial foundation, to be run in the spirit of Fårö’s unique nature, culture, history and population. During his stay, Hoff completed his “Hammars suite” for chamber orchestra (strings) and jazz trio, to be performed in Northern Norway September 2014.

Ingmar Bergman is recognized as one of the most accomplished and influential auteurs of all time and he made several films on Fårö, a.o. Through a Glass Darkly (1960), Persona (1966), Shame (1968), A Passion (1969), and the TV series Scenes from a Marriage (1973). More info on Bergman Estate


Hoff as cultural profile of Lofoten

Jan Gunnar Hoff will be the cultural profile of Vågan, Lofoten Kulturhus in Fall 2014 and Spring 2015. Lofoten Kulturhus will present 4 projects with Hoff in a leading role as composer, soloist and arranger. This will include projects with strings, choir and jazz-settings. In the first project for his “Hoff-season, Hoff teamed up with leading Norwegian actor Bjørn Sundquist in the performance HAMSUN, merging lyrics from “Det vilde kor” with Hoff´s original compositions in an intimate yet powerful artistic setting. The tour started in Svolvær August 27, Bodø Aug 28, Hamsun Center (Hamarøy) Aug 29, Sortland Aug 30 and Narvik August 31. Late September Hoff did his “Hoff with strings”- project in collaboration with Lofoten, University of Tromsø and Atle Sponberg.
Link to Lofoten Kulturhus presentation (in Norwegian)
  1. City Z (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 4:23
  2. Some Day (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 6:33
  3. Common Ground (2018) Jan Gunnar Hoff Group feat Mike Stern 7:39
  4. Living (Losen records 2014) Hoff, Mazur, Henriksen, Jormin 6:54
  5. FLY NORTH (Losen 2013) Hoff - Jormin - Mazur - Henriksen
  6. Beginning Hoff Ensemble: Jan Gunnar Hoff, Audun Kleive & Anders Jormin 3:14